NU Library: Business and Economics Research: MGT 460

Google Charts

Google Charts Example

Assessing Customer Preferences

Statista

Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries.

Databases

In a case study analysis, probe underlying issues, compare different alternatives, and suggest courses of action in light of the organization's objectives through the use of evidence.

ABI/INFORM Collection + other ProQuest business databases

The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as "The Economist", country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Source Premier

Find articles, economic reports, company profiles, industry reports, and videos from business publications in areas such as marketing, management, accounting, and finance.
Gale Business Insights

Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
IBISWorld

Founded in 1971, IBISWorld provides trusted industry research on thousands of industries worldwide. Our in-house analysts leverage economic, demographic and market data, then add analytical and forward-looking insight, to help organizations of all types make better business decisions.

Country and Demographic Overviews

Country Watch
Key publications produced by CountryWatch include the CountryReviews, an up-to-date series of publications for each country including demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information, and the CountryWire, which provides daily news coverage for every country in the world and a significant news archive made up of the compendium of regional news carriers.--From About Us page
U.S. Census
A census is a complete count of a population. It's a systematic way of collecting, recording, and analyzing information about the people living in a specific geographic area. This information can include things like:

Demographics: Age, gender, race, ethnicity, and marital status.
Housing: Types of homes, occupancy, and housing values.
Employment: Occupation, industry, and income levels.
Education: Educational attainment and literacy rates.
Economic activity: Businesses, industries, and economic indicators.

Censuses are conducted at regular intervals, typically every 10 years. They are used to:

Allocate resources: Governments use census data to distribute resources like funding for schools, hospitals, and infrastructure.
Redistrict: Political boundaries are often redrawn based on population changes revealed by the census.
Conduct research: Researchers use census data to study social, economic, and demographic trends.
Inform business decisions: Businesses use census data to understand their target market and make informed decisions about where to locate and expand.