NU Library: Services for Faculty: Instructional Videos

Introduction to Instructional Videos

Ways to use these videos:

show them in class
assign them to be viewed outside of class

We are happy to create instructional videos customized to your needs! Just email Lucy Bell to discuss your request

Database Tutorials

EBSCOhost Tutorials

Using EBSCOhost
How to use EBSCO to find articles for your papers and projects. From Niagara University Library
Basic Searching in EBSCO
Advanced Searching in EBSCO
Searching in ERIC
Basic CINAHL Searching
Advanced CINAHL Searching
Using CINAHL/MeSH Subject Headings
Using MEDLINE
Searching MLA International Bibliography

ProQuest Tutorials

Using ProQuest
This video shows you how to use ProQuest to find articles for your papers and projects. From Niagara University Library
Basic Searching in ProQuest
Advanced Searching in ProQuest
Using eBook Central
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This is an online course through ProQuest you can use to search this database in various ways

Nexis Uni Tutorials

Gale Tutorials

Using Academic OneFile
This video covers most Gale database searching
Using Opposing Viewpoints
Finding Individual Magazines in Gale
Use this tutorial to browse The New York Times in full text
Using Peterson's Test and Career Prep

Additional Databases

Some of these resources are located within the databases and require your PurplePass to view if you are working from home.

Google Search Tips
Using HeinOnline
Using IBISWorld
A collection of articles on using the different features of IBISWorld, such as industry reports, risk ratings, inflation tracker, and more
Using JSTOR
Using NewsBank
Use this information to also search the Niagara Gazette and Buffalo News in our databases
OVID: Basic Searching
OVID: Advanced Searching
Using S&P NetAdvantage
Page of tutorials for using NetAdvantage
Using Sage Journals
ScienceDirect: Browsing
ScienceDirect: Advanced Searching
Using Springer Nature Link
Page of tutorials for using Springer Nature Link
Using Statista
Using Taylor & Francis Online
Step-by-step instructions for searching
Using UpToDate
Series of videos on setting up and using UpToDate.

You are required to create a free account with UpToDate when you first use it. You must reauthenticate your account through this link every 90 days to maintain access to UptoDate
Wiley Online Library: Advanced Searching

NoodleTools

Using NoodleTools

The Library has a subscription to NoodleTools for our Niagara University community. NoodleTools allows you to create, manage, and store citations for your papers and projects. Many of our databases can export citations directly into the software.

When making an account, you must use the direct NoodleTools link to log into Niagara University's instance vs. Googling for it. You also must use your Niagara University email to create your account.

The videos below can assist you in setting up and using NoodleTools.

Getting Started with NoodleTools
Information on creating an account and project spaces in NoodleTools.
Adding Sources in NoodleTools
How to add information sources (articles, books, websites) into NoodleTools.
Using Notecards in NoodleTools
This video shows you how to use Notecards to annotate your research sources.
Sharing and Collaborating in NoodleTools
How to share information or collaborate on projects in NoodleTools.