This guide is intended to help you do topical research in sport management.
Films on Demand
More than 6,000 streaming video titles in various subject areas.
An electronic statistics database with more than 60,000 topics. Incorporate graphs into presentations easily!
DMOZ - Sports
Directory of sports websites from the Open Directory Project.
John Miley Sports Broadcast Collection
"Miley’s collection includes more than 6,000 historic radio and television broadcast recordings of pre-1972 ... sporting events in every major area of athletic competition including Major League Baseball, the National Hockey League, the National Football League, the National Basketball Association, Olympic events, Indy 500 auto races, Triple Crown horse races, boxing, golf, tennis, and college football, basketball and baseball." - Library of Congress
Library Resources from USSA
List of webpages compiled by the United States Sports Academy Library.
NBR's Beyond the $coreboard
Nightly Business Report's weekly segment "Beyond the $coreboard" gives viewers in-depth analysis of the biggest sports stories of the week and what they mean for investors. Scroll down to select video and weekly articles to explore.
If you need an article or a book that NU Library does not own, you can make use of Interlibrary Loan to obtain it.
Tip: In a hurry? If the article or book you need is owned by another library in Western New York, you can visit that library and use their resources on site (view a list of Western New York library web sites).
Please note: If you wish to borrow a book from another Western New York library, you can get an InfoPass card at the Reference Desk.
Format your paper and cite your sources according to the:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Ref BF76.7 .P83 2010)
This manual is the definitive source. The official manual is not online, though APA does provide some guidance on how to cite web sites and electronic databases:
You may also want to check out some style tips from APA:
Here is a helpful guide from The Purdue Online Writing lab at Purdue University:
Try a Google search of "APA Style" to see other guides. You will find many sites listed that provide examples of APA Style. The first few that are listed tend to be reliable, but you will have to be careful.
Tip: Please talk to your professor if you have questions about how to cite your sources.
Usually the first place to start your research, this multidisciplinary database system provides access to magazines, journal articles, and to a lesser extent, newspapers.
Full-text access to more than 1500 academic journals in the social, behavioral, life, health and physical sciences.
An online international sport marketing and business database focusing on sport participation, fan profiles, sports facilities, sport finance, sporting goods, sponsorship, marketing, media and directories.
SpringerLink provides access to more than 1,750 journals. While it is an interdisciplinary collection, its strengths are in its science, technology, and math coverage.