Education research is usually disseminated through journal articles, especially for current studies and findings in educational & developmental psychology.
Start with any or all of the following databases:
Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
Contains 1,000+ education journals, many with full-text articles available.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Education database via ProQuest
Focuses on Canadian information in the field of education and includes articles on teaching, educational research, and educational administration in Canada. Over 265 journals are in the collection, with file depth back to the 1980s. Academic, administrative, professional, and topical journals are all included, as are newsletters.
ERIC via EBSCOhost
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC (http://www.eric.ed.gov/) is also available through the World Wide Web
When you search ERIC, you may find citations for ERIC documents. ERIC Documents include a wide variety of resources such as teaching guides, conference papers, research reports, bibliographies, opinion papers, instructional materials, and test and evaluation instruments.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
A comprehensive index of citations & abstracts in psychology with strong coverage in education. Includes articles on tests and other instruments used for mental measurement.
Other databases to consider:
PsycARTICLES via EBSCOhost
A related database to PsycINFO with over 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Includes the Journal of Educational Psychology with coverage from 1910 to the present.
SAGE Journals Online
The electronic journal platform for SAGE. Provides full-text access to several education-related, peer reviewed journals.
The electronic journal platform for Elsevier. Provides full-text access to over 40 education-related, peer-reviewed journals. Scope includes developmental & educational psychology.
Research law-related education issues and current events in education. Lexis/Nexis contains full-text articles from many newspapers, magazines, and journals and also houses television transcripts.
The Library also provides access to some Databases Suitable for Children that elementary and middle school students will be able to use and understand. These databases can also be useful to teachers writing lesson plans.
- If you need an article from a journal that we have in our print collection, we will scan it and deliver it to your online ILLiad account.
- If we do not own it, we will try to obtain a copy from another institution and place it in your ILLiad account. Please fill out the ILLiad request form, and we will notify you via email when your article is available.
While Ontario students are unable to check out hard copy books from NU Library, they may access electronic books via ebrary. Please contact Melissa Langridge, your library liaison, if you have any questions.
There are two places to look for educational video and documentaries provided by Niagara University Library.
- Films on Demand. More than 6,000 video titles are available for streaming anywhere on campus.
- Counseling and Therapy
- The web is a good source of video as well. Refseek links to some of the best sites: http://www.refseek.com/directory/educational_videos.html
Ontario's provincial government education Web site:
Ontario Ministry of Education
The main portal for elementary and secondary school information for teachers, students, parents and administrators. Includes lists of schools and school boards throughout Ontario, curriculum descriptions, codes of conduct, exemplars, updates and policy documents, statistics, teaching tools, professional resources for development as well as information on safety and special education.
Standards for Education in Ontario can be found on the Web:
Ontario College of Teachers
The standards of professional practice for the teaching profession & the ethical standards for the teaching profession.
Ontario Ministry of Education and Training. Guide to the Provincial Report Card.
Ontario Ministry of Education and Training.Elementary Report Card.
Ontario Ministry of Education and Training. Education Facts.
For Curriculum / Policy / Program Planning:
Ontario Ministry of Education and Training. Curriculum.
Ontario Ministry of Education and Training. Policy and Reference.
Ontario Ministry of Education and Training. Program Planning and Assessment Grades 9-12. http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/curriculum/
Web Sites with Education Resources:
Discovery Channel - discoveryschool.com
Treasure trove of K-12 lesson plans which can be sorted by subject or grade, teaching tools, homework helpers, study starters, as well as puzzles and games. Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators link offers an expansive directory of additional teacher resources. Sponsored by cable television's Discovery Channel.
Educator's Reference Desk
Directory of 3,000+ resources available on a variety of educational issues from Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups. The Lesson Plan Collection contains more than 2,000 lesson plans contributed by teachers from all over the United States. The collection can be searched according to subject or grade level. There is also a question and answer archive of over 200 responses to popular questions on the practice, theory, and research of education.
A corporate-sponsored Web site focused on professional development for teachers and administrators packed with free resources, lesson plans, games, strategies, and articles. Daily features, columns, and blogs authored by educators can be found here. Topics include diversity, motivating students, classroom management, and information technology integration. This site has a search engine that limits results to educational Web sites only.
GEM: The Gateway to Education Materials
Since 1996, The Gateway to Educational Materials(GEM), a nonprofit consortium, has provided access to 49,000+ Internet-based lesson plans, activities, instructional units and other educational materials from collections made available through various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial outlets. These collections have been evaluated for authoritativeness and quality based on criteria developed by the consortium.
A searchable, collection of peer reviewed, free online learning materials (simulations, tutorials, quizzes, drills, presentations, and case studies) created by faculty, staff, librarians, administrators and students. The collection can be browsed by subject area, grade level, language, technical format, material type, author, organization, and other limiters.
Ontario Curriculum Planner
Curriculum Services Canada (CSC) is a not-for-profit agency providing services related to the evaluation, development, implementation and accreditation of learning resources from Ontario EDU Initiatives (including Ontario Course Profiles). They evaluate textbooks for the Ontario Ministry of Education and provide free resources for educators.
Ontario Curriculum Unit Planner
Ministry of Education resource library assists teachers in designing, adapting, and managing lesson plans, course units, and profiles for the Ontario Curriculum. Special software permits sharing of resources. Download training slide shows, help kits, and guides.
Check with your professor first, but the most commonly used style manual in the Education Department is the following:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Ref BF76.7 .P83 2010)
This manual is the definitive source, but you will find some online guides as well.
APA Style Tips (provides examples, not the complete manual)
Robert Delaney at Long Island University
Try a Google search of "APA Style" to see other guides.
Tip: Please talk to your professor if you have questions about how to cite your sources.