The Library provides access to hundreds of databases that college students and faculty use for research.
But did you know that the Library also provides access to several databases that elementary, middle and high school students will be able to use and understand? These databases can also be useful to teachers doing lesson planning.
EBSCOhost provides access to several databases designed for kids:
MAS Ultra - School Edition via EBSCOhost
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for nearly 550 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating back as far as 1975 for key magazines. MAS Ultra School Edition also provides nearly 550 full text pamphlets, 237 full text reference books, 91,600 biographies, 75,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.
Primary Search via EBSCOhost
Contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 80 magazines. Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Examples of publications covered in Primary Search include: Appleseeds, Boys' Life, Cobblestone, Cricket, Highlights for Children, Hopscotch, Jack & Jill, Ladybug, Ranger Rick, Science World, Spider, SuperScience, Time for Kids, Turtle, and many more. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text backfiles go as far back as 1989, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as 1984.
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia via EBSCOhost
For kids and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database has more than 25,000 articles, covering an array of topics. This database is updated annually.
The Library also has a Children's Literature Collection.