This guide is intended to help you do topical research in business and economics.
Mathematics research is usually disseminated through journal articles, so this is almost always what you will focus on when doing mathematics research.
Tip: If you are doing research on a mathematics education topic, then you should use the Guide to Education Research.
Try all of the following databases:
Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
This is a multidisciplinary database that indexes more than 300 mathematics journals and contains quite a bit of full text.
Research Library via ProQuest
More than 2,500 full-text journals are available through this multidisciplinary database, including some mathematics journals.
More than 1,500 full-text scientific journals are available through ScienceDirect, including nearly a hundred directly relevant to mathematics.
SpringerLink provides access to more than 1,750 journals. While it is a multidisciplinary collection, its strengths are in its science, technology, and math coverage.
The American Mathematical Society (AMS) is now providing free access to more than 100 years worth of articles from the following journals:
- Journal of the AMS
- Mathematics of Computation
- Proceedings of the AMS
- Transactions of the AMS
- Bulletin of the AMS
Search these archives here.
New mathematics research is typically first disseminated through journal articles. Books are not as important an aspect of the mathematics literature review, though they can still be helpful.
To locate books owned by Niagara University Library, use the Library Catalog.
The ebrary electronic book collection offers full-text access to many titles.
If you want to search for books owned by other libraries, too, then try searching WorldCat, a catalog that contains references to more than 57 million items owned by 9,000 libraries worldwide. Don't worry - if you need a book owned by another library, you can request it. To learn how, jump to the section called Obtaining Materials NU Library Does Not Own.
The Reference Collection on the first floor of the main Library contains some mathematics reference books that can be useful if you are looking for facts or overviews. Look for call number Ref QA 5 to see titles like:
- CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics
These and other titles are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor.
If you are looking for specific information on the World Wide Web, visit a search engine like Google and type your keywords in.
If you would like to browse directories of mathematics web sites, try these:
If you need an article or a book that NU Library does not own, you can make use of Interlibrary Loan to obtain it.
Tip: In a hurry? If the article or book you need is owned by another library in Western New York, you can visit that library and use their resources on site (view a list of Western New York library web sites).
Please note: If you wish to borrow a book from another Western New York library, you can get an InfoPass card at the Reference Desk.
The Mathematics Department does not require the use of a particular style manual, so check with your professor.