Fine Arts Research

Finding Articles

Top

Try the following databases:

Art Source via EBSCOhost
Indexing and abstracting of more than 1,200 journals, with 630 in full text. More than 63,000 images. Coverage dating back to 1929.

Academic Search Premier via EBSCOhost
This is a multidisciplinary database that indexes some art journals and contains some full text.

Research Library via ProQuest
This is another multidisciplinary database that has a few art publications and some full text.

JSTOR
This scholarly database includes the full text of some art journals. Please note that coverage dates vary from journal to journal.

Lexis/Nexis
This full-text database provides access to hundreds of newspapers and can be a good source of local reviews of exhibits and profiles of artists.

Finding Books

Top

To locate books owned by Niagara University Library, use the Library Catalog.

Tip: When looking at a book in the Library catalog, be sure to check which collection it is shelved in. Many art books are shelved in the Oversize collection, which is located on the basement level of the Library to the right.

The ebrary electronic book collection offers full-text access to many titles.

If you want to search for books owned by other libraries, too, then try searching WorldCat, a catalog that contains references to more than 57 million items owned by 9,000 libraries worldwide. Don't worry - if you need a book owned by another library, you can request it. To learn how, jump to the section called Obtaining Materials NU Library Does Not Own.

Finding Films

Top

There are three places to look for educational video and documentaries owned by Niagara University Library.

  1. The Educational DVD Collection is located on the first floor of the Library.
    This collection exceeds 1,500 titles and can be viewed and searched via the NU Library Catalog.
  2. Films on Demand. More than 6,000 video titles are available for streaming anywhere on campus.
  3. The web is a good source of video as well. Refseek links to some of the best sites: http://www.refseek.com/directory/educational_videos.html

Finding Facts and Web Sites

Top

The Reference Collection on the first floor Library contains some art reference books that can also be useful. Look for call number Ref N to see titles like:

  • Encyclopedia of the Arts
  • Encyclopedia of World Art
  • Oxford Dictionary of Art

If you are looking for specific information on the World Wide Web, visit a search engine like Google and type your keywords in.

If you would like to browse directories of art web sites, try these:

Obtaining Materials NU Library Does Not Own

Top

If you need an article or a book that NU Library does not own, you can make use of Interlibrary Loan to obtain it.

Tip: In a hurry? If the article or book you need is owned by another library in Western New York, you can visit that library and use their resources on site (view a list of Western New York library web sites).

Please note: If you wish to borrow a book from another Western New York library, you can get an InfoPass card at the Reference Desk.

Citing Your Sources

Top

Check with your professor first, but the most commonly used style manual in the Theatre Studies Department is the following:

  • MLA Handbook For Writers of Research Papers (Ref LB2369 .G53 2003b)

This manual is the definitive source, but you will find some online guides as well.

Try a Google search of "MLA Style" to see other guides.

Tip: Please talk to your professor if you have questions about how to cite your sources.