Books provide valuable information about the history and philosophy of education, including policy and reform, offer assessment tools, unit plans, and detailed methods of instruction. Children's literature and picture books are the cornerstone for promoting literacy in the classroom. Remember to look at publication dates of books and note that journal articles may furnish more recent research and findings.
To locate books owned by Niagara University Library, use the Library Catalog.
If you want to search for books owned by other libraries, too, then try searching WorldCat, a catalog that contains references to more than 57 million items owned by 9,000 libraries worldwide. Don't worry - if you need a book owned by another library, you can request it. To learn how, jump to the section called Obtaining Materials NU Library Does Not Own.
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses may be useful to your research.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: The Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
This is a comprehensive collection of scholarly research in the humanities and social sciences covering more than one million dissertations and theses, many in full text.
There are three places to look for educational video and documentaries owned by Niagara University Library.
- The Educational DVD Collection is located on the first floor of the Library.
This collection exceeds 1,500 titles and can be viewed and searched via the NU Library Catalog.
- Films on Demand. More than 6,000 video titles are available for streaming anywhere on campus.
- Counseling and Therapy
- The web is a good source of video as well. Refseek links to some of the best sites: http://www.refseek.com/directory/educational_videos.html
These titles are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor.
- The Encyclopedia of Education (Ref LB15 .E47 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Educational Research (Ref LB15.E48 1992)
- The Encyclopedia of School Psychology (Ref LB1027.55 .E523 2005)
- The Encyclopedia of Special Education (Ref LC4007 .E53 2000)
- The Greenwood Dictionary of Education (Ref LB15 .G68 2003)
- Learning Theories A-Z (Ref LB15 .L4695 2002)
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (Ref Z 5814 .P8 B932)
The World Wide Web is a great place to find statistical data. Try these sites:
U.S. Dept. of Education
The U.S. Dept. of Education collects data on America's schools and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, prohibits discrimination and ensures equal access to education through the No Child Left Behind Act
National Center for Education Statistics (2006)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Web Sites with Education Resources:
Discovery Channel. discoveryschool.com
Treasure trove of K-12 lesson plans which can be sorted by subject or grade, teaching tools, homework helpers, study starters, as well as puzzles and games. Kathy Schrock's Guide for Educators link offers an expansive directory of additional teacher resources. Sponsored by cable television's Discovery Channel.
Educator's Reference Desk
Directory of 3,000+ resources available on a variety of educational issues from Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups. The Lesson Plan Collection contains more than 2,000 lesson plans contributed by teachers from all over the United States. The collection can be searched according to subject or grade level. There is also a question and answer archive of over 200 responses to popular questions on the practice, theory, and research of education.
A corporate-sponsored Web site focused on professional development for teachers and administrators packed with free resources, lesson plans, games, strategies, and articles. Daily features, columns, and blogs authored by educators can be found here. Topics include diversity, motivating students, classroom management, and information technology integration. This site has a search engine that limits results to educational Web sites only.
GEM: The Gateway to Education Materials
Since 1996, The Gateway to Educational Materials(GEM), a nonprofit consortium, has provided access to 49,000+ Internet-based lesson plans, activities, instructional units and other educational materials from collections made available through various federal, state, university, non-profit, and commercial outlets. These collections have been evaluated for authoritativeness and quality based on criteria developed by the consortium.
A searchable, collection of peer reviewed, free online learning materials (simulations, tutorials, quizzes, drills, presentations, and case studies) created by faculty, staff, librarians, administrators and students. The collection can be browsed by subject area, grade level, language, technical format, material type, author, organization, and other limiters.
New York State Education Department. New York State Library
Selected education websites with information about associations, charter schools, distance education, teacher employment, literacy, online journals, schools, and specific subject areas.
If you need an article or a book that NU Library does not own, you can make use of Interlibrary Loan to obtain it.
Tip: In a hurry? If the article or book you need is owned by another library in Western New York, you can visit that library and use their resources on site (view a list of Western New York library web sites).
Please note: If you wish to borrow a book from another Western New York library, you can get an InfoPass card at the Reference Desk.
Check with your professor first, but the most commonly used style manual in the Education Department is the following:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (Ref BF76.7 .P83 2010)
This manual is the definitive source, but you will find some online guides as well.
APA Style Tips (provides examples, not the complete manual)
Robert Delaney at Long Island University
Try a Google search of "APA Style" to see other guides.
Tip: Please talk to your professor if you have questions about how to cite your sources.
Education research is usually disseminated through journal articles, especially for current studies and findings in educational & developmental psychology.
Start with any or all of the following databases:
ERIC via EBSCOhost
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC (http://www.eric.ed.gov/) is also available through the World Wide Web
When you search ERIC, you may find citations for ERIC documents. ERIC Documents include a wide variety of resources such as teaching guides, conference papers, research reports, bibliographies, opinion papers, instructional materials, and test and evaluation instruments.
Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost
Contains 1,000+ education journals, many with full-text articles available.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
A comprehensive index of citations & abstracts in psychology with strong coverage in education. Includes articles on tests and other instruments used for mental measurement.
Other databases to consider:
PsycARTICLES via EBSCOhost
A related database to PsycINFO with over 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Includes the Journal of Educational Psychology with coverage from 1910 to the present.
The electronic journal platform for Elsevier. Provides full-text access to over 40 education-related, peer-reviewed journals. Scope includes developmental & educational psychology.
Research law-related education issues and current events in education. Lexis/Nexis contains full-text articles from many newspapers, magazines, and journals and also houses television transcripts.
The Library also provides access to some Databases Suitable for Children that elementary and middle school students will be able to use and understand. These databases can also be useful to teachers writing lesson plans.